Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Bridging the Acute Care Gap
Share |

Bridging the Acute Care Gap:

Advancing Acute Care Physical Therapy Education and Educators

A Focus on Best Practice in Acute Care Education

May 18-20, 2018

University of Indianapolis



Registration Now CLOSED

Bridging the Acute Care Gap Conference Brochure
Download now to learn about the full conference schedule.

Housing is Now CLOSED

The deadline for housing registration was April 27.



The AACPT has made great strides in advancing the preparation of students to meet the needs of patients with acute medical conditions and educating society on the knowledge skills and behaviors needed for both entry-level and beyond entry-level clinical practice. In moving forward, AACPT continues to seek efforts to educate and communicate with the physical therapy community at large, consisting of clinicians, educators, financial stakeholders and, most importantly, our patients. At the same time, there are limitations in acute care clinical placements for students, absent or limited acute care education curriculum within educational programs, and limited presence in the education arena within physical therapy limit the development of acute care clinicians for practice. Several sections have recognized the need for further education beyond CSM and NEXT within their own specialty areas to engage their members and national audience.

This conference workshop can provide AACPT national presence to promote acute care didactic and clinical education to members and nonmembers with immediate takeaways for implementation in their academic and clinical environments.


This workshop is being offered by The Academy of Acute Care Physical Therapy (AACPT) to enhance and disseminate best practice strategies in acute care physical therapist education. It is positioned to attract academic and clinical educators striving to meet the need of entry-level preparation of physical therapist and physical therapist assistant students for acute care practice, as well as advancing post-professional acute care residency programs.

Task Force Members

This conference was organized by the following task force members:

  • Kristin Greenwood
  • Sharon Gorman
  • Babette S. Sanders
  • Melissa Hake
  • Julie High
  • Kim Novak
  • Nicki Silberman
  • Sujoy Bose
  • Beverly Fein
  • Sara Alhajeri
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal