Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: AACPT News

Congratulations AACPT Award Winners!

Monday, March 5, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Katie Maher
Share |

Congratulations to Our 2018 Award Winners

The Academy of Acute Care Physical Therapy (AACPT) presented its 2018 awards at the Awards Presentation and Business Meeting & Membership Social on Thursday, Feb. 22 at the Combined Sections Meeting (CSM) in New Orleans.

Hear what nominators had to say about the awardees below, and congratulations to all!

Know an AACPT member who is deserving of recognition? Visit the AACPT Awards webpage to learn about past awardees and criteria. Nominations for 2019 awards will open in May and close on Nov. 1.

James Dunleavy Distinguished Service Award
Timothy Lyons, PT
Past Treasurer

"He has brought a wealth of experience to (his role as Treasurer), and assured long-term financial security for the Academy to meet its broader long-term mission...Thanks to his leadership on the Finance Committee, the Academy is now in a position to initiate an AACPT-sponsored Foundation Research Grant for 2018."
- Barbara K. Smith, PT, PhD

"I see Tim's contributions to the welfare of our profession as paramount. He has the unwavering ability to envision what our membership needs to drive high-quality care, strong professionalism, and sustained Academy growth. As well, he puts this vision into action."
- Courtney Bryan, PT

9th Academy of Acute Care Lecture Award
Jim Smith, PT, DPT, MA
Past President | Clinical Practice Guidelines Co-Chair
Nominating Committee Member

"Jim maintains his relationship with the classroom, community, and his profession as a leader and a mentor to others. I believe the combination of clinical excellence, intellectual skills and outstanding professional behaviors will make him an excellent awardee."
- Alan C. Lee, PT, PhD, DPT, CWS, GCS

"Jim is one of the few exemplary leaders who can recruit top-notch people and mentor them, but also works tirelessly himself, while giving the credit to others...His kindness and encouragement is one of the reasons I decided to have my first leadership contact with the APTA be with AACPT."
- Lori Pearlmutter, PT, MPH

Judy Oiler Fellowship Award
Peggy Pearl
Executive Director

"Her willingness to serve and advance AACPT was essential to our ability to comply with our obligations and to serve the needs of our members and organization...She finds joy in advancing AACPT and our members, and I commend that dedication to our organization."
- Jim Smith, PT, DPT, MA

"I was always impressed at how Peggy went above and beyond to make every member feel welcome (at CSM), ensure they knew they were part of the important process of the Academy of Acute Care Physical Therapy and making sure they were taken care of."
- Kristin Curry Greenwood, PT, DPT, EdD, MS

Best Manuscript Award
Heather Dillon Anderson, PT, DPT, NCS
Jane E. Sullivan, PT, DHS, MS

"Outcome Measures for Persons with Acute Stroke: A Survey of Physical Therapists Practicing in Acute Care and Acute Rehabilitation Settings"

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal