Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Academy of Acute Care Physical Therapy Awards
Share |

To honor the various contributions on behalf of the Academy of Acute Care Physical Therapy membership, the Academy has four awards. These awards are the highest honor the Academy can bestow in recognition of excellence and are awarded at CSM annually during the Membership Meeting.

Review the four Academy awards via the links below. Requirements and supporting materials to be submitted with your nomination are detailed there.

Nomination Process

Academy members, and in some instances, non-Academy members, are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals for the four Academy awards yearly. In an effort to be kind to the environment, all nominations are now only accepted electronically. To view the nomination forms and descriptions of award criteria and supporting documentation, visit the links below.

Award Criteria and Nomination Forms

Nomination Process

  • Gather and submit required supporting materials.
  • Submit the award nomination form by clicking the corresponding link above.

Your nomination is not complete until the required supporting documents are submitted.


Nominations for the Academy of Acute Care Physical Therapy Awards are due on November 1st each year. Nominations are now closed. Consider nominating a member who has impressed or inspired you. All it takes to nominate someone is to complete a simple online nomination form, but it’s a significant gesture. 


Awardees - James Dunleavy Distinguished Service Award

2017: Kristin Greenwood, PT, DPT, MS, GCS,
2016: Glenn Irion, DPT, PhD, CWS and Jim Smith, PT, DPT, MA
2015: Courtney Bryan, PT
2013: Karen Holtgrefe, PT, DHS, OCS
2010: Sharon L. Gorman, PT, DPTSc, GCS
2008: Molly Crist, PT, DPT
2006: Sharon L. Gorman,PT, MS, GCS
2003: Susi Hoshi-Castoro, PT
2002: Anita Bemis-Dougherty, PT, MAS
2001: Nancy Gessner, PT
1999: Peter Kovacek, PT
1998: Dawn Simmons,PT
1997: Inaugural awarding to James Dunleavy, PT & Michelle L. Murphy, PT2017: Glenn Irion, DPT, PhD, CWS and Jim Smith, PT, DPT, MA

Awardees - Mary Sinnott Award for Clinical Excellence in Acute Care

2016: Rhonda Barr, DPT, MA, CCS
2015: Joseph Adler, PT, DPT, CCS
2014: Amy Pawlik, PT, DPT, CCS
2013: Jennifer Zanni, PT
2012: Jennifer M.Ryan, PT, DPT, MS, CCS
2010: Christiane Perme, PT, CCS
2009: Elizabeth Warner, PT
2008: Mieczyslawa Franczyk, PT, PhD, MPH
2004: Darin Trees, PT, DPT
2003: Jennifer Driscoll, PT, MS
2001: Sara Arena,PT
2000: Charlotte Winokur Silver, PT

Awardees - Judy Oiler Fellowship Award

2017: Anita Bemis-Dougherty, PT, DPT, MAS
2014: Dale Needham, MD
2012: Diane U. Jette, PT, DSc, FAPTA
2011: Lieve Monnens
2009: Jean M. Bryan Coe, PT, DPT, PhD
2007: Judy Oiler
2003: Debbie Kelly, CMP
2002: Angel Ramos
2001: Lisa Ruane
1998: Julie Deal & Dobby Wall

Awardees - Lecture Award

2018: Babette Sanders, PT, DPT, MS, FAPTA

2017: Richard Bohannon, EdD, DPT, NCS, FAHA, FAPTA, FASNR, FAACPDM, CEEAA - Acute Care and Beyond - Stories and Lessons Learned

2016: Ellen Wruble Hakim, PT, DScPT, MS, CWS, FACCWS - Survival Is Not Enough 

2015: Christine Perme, PT, CCS - Solidifying the Future of the PT Profession in ICU:  The Time is Now

2014: Jennifer Ryan, PT, MS, CCS - Do You Own Your Practice? The Importance of Owning Your Decisions and Actions

2013: Sharon L. Gorman, PT, DPTSc, GCS - Leveraging Technology to Advance Acute Care Practice

2012: Mary Sinnott, PT, MS - Acuity, Autonomy and the Intelligent Conversation

2011: Jim Dunleavy, PT, MS - Our Profession's Foundation and Its Future


Past Awardees--APTA Emerging Leader Award

2013: Richard Lee-Anthony White, PT, DPT
2012: Wendy Scutt Romney, PT, DPT, NCS and Sonya Lee Irons, PT, DPT, CCS
2011:Lynzie Travis-Schulte, PT, DPT
2009: Jeffrey S. Welk, PT, DPT, MPH
2008: Ann Hoi-Yin Chan, PT, DPT, MS
2006: Nicole Terumi Taniguchi, PT and Emily J. Slaven, PT MSc, OCS
2005: Judy Witherell, PTA, CLT-LANA and Alison L. Squadrito, PT, DPT, GCS

JACPT Best Article Award

2015 JACPT Best Manuscript
Title of Article: Early Mobilization in Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Accelerates Recovery and Reduces Length of Stay

Authors: Brian F. Olkowski, PT, DPT, NCS; Mandy J. Binning, M.D.; Geri Sanfillippo, RN, MSN; Melissa L. Arcaro, PT, DPT, NCS; Laurie E. Slotnick, PT, DPT; Erol Veznedaroglu, MD, FACS, FAHA, FAANS; Kenneth M. Liebman, MD, FACS, FAANS; Amy E. Warren, MT, OS

2013 JACPT Best Manuscript
Title of Article: Gait Speed Improves Du ring Physical Therapy in General Acute Care, Skilled Nursing and Inpatient Rehabilitation - a Pilot Study

Authors: Heather J. Braden, PT, MPT, PhD, GCSa; Mansoo Ko, PT, PhDa; Maddie Bohmfalk, PTa; Katie Hortick PTa; Scott Hasson, EdD, PT, FACSM, FAPTAb


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal